Owning a weapon is right ensured in the Second Amendment in the US Law. Held as sacred by some and sacrilegious by others, few amendments have captured the public’s attention like the right to own and use a gun.
In every state, the laws regarding gun ownership are different. While some states are relatively lax on gun ownership and aspects of gun ownership like concealed weapon permits, other states are very strict. Simply put, your ability to purchase a gun and have a legal right to have it concealed on you may depend on where you live and individuals responsible for issuing said license.
Let’s take a moment to examine how you can acquire a weapon and a concealed weapon permit in the state of California. We will review the pieces of information you will require when going through the process, as well as what you will need to have ahead of time. In addition, we will talk about exactly where you will need to go for your concealed weapon permit. With any luck, you will have all the information you need to legally acquire your gun and then carry it concealed on you without fear of breaking the law.
Step 1: Acquiring A Firearm In California
There are a few requirements that you will have to meet, including age, proof of residency, proof of identity, and proof of passing a safety class in the operation of a firearm. Proof of residency is usually the easiest to come by. A utility bill, a lease agreement if you rent, anything having to do with your mortgage or home is you own it, and even your driver’s license can be used. Proof of age and identity are a little harder. Only three forms of identification are allowed, with two of them being provided by the Department of Motor Vehicles (identification card and license) as well as one provided for those in the military with their military identification card. Also, be aware that handguns require you to be 21 or older, while shotguns and rifles require being 18 years of age or older. The hardest thing for many due to the time commitment is the safety certification. You will need the paperwork with you when going to a gun dealership. Finally, there is a mandatory 10-day wait period before you are allowed to take the gun from the store. This is mandated in all cases throughout the state and is non-negotiable.
Step 2: How To Acquire A Carry Concealed Weapon License With Your Firearm
In California, you can acquire a license to carry a concealed weapon. Known as the Carry Concealed Weapon or CCW license, getting one is a bit different of a process from acquiring a firearm.
A CCW license is acquired by contacting your county sheriff’s office. If you are a part of an incorporated city, then you will have to go through your city’s police department. In either case, you will have to talk to them directly about getting information for the license itself. The police department monitors all concealed weapon licenses directly. In addition to answering any questions you may have, they can provide you a copy of their CCW license policy statement that lists the rules and regulations for the license. Only residents of a particular jurisdiction may apply for a license in that jurisdiction.
Summing It All Up
Getting a firearm and a license to carry it concealed can be a lengthy process depending on how long it takes you to get your certificate and meet the requirements laid out by the local sheriff or police station. In either case, the sooner you start the process, the sooner you can get it over with. More than anything else, go for the safety certification first as it may take the longest amount of time. Acquire all the other identification forms in the mean time. During the 10-day wait period, begin talking to your local sheriff or police department to figure out what their requirements are. Depending on exactly where you live in California, you can complete the process in as little as a month. Until then, good luck!